Home Articles Top NSMQ contestants who have sat on the hot seat

Top NSMQ contestants who have sat on the hot seat

A friend Nathan Kwadade shared an article about the Top 15 National Science and Maths Quiz contestants with me earlier after last year’s National Science and Maths Quiz (NSMQ) had ended. We posted it on Facebook and it generated a whole lot of chatter. Many people posted comments talking about other favorite contestants. Some came to share their credentials too.

The comments on this Facebook post actually drove us to write this blog post. Because you can find this blog post better than our Facebook post when you google the info you are looking for. There. You’re welcome

Hisham Idris started us off with “Where is Bubune Adih of Mfsantsipim? He’s arguably the most prominent contestant the show has seen.” It’s hard to argue with him. Bubune Adih actually participated in the NSMQ this year, not as a contestant, but as a speaker. He also donated GHC2000 to the best contestant for this year. Not doing badly at all  Bubune was part of the victorious 1998 squad with Mfantsipim. Benjilo Benbela said: Incomplete list without Bubune, Reza Abdullah. Reza was a member of the victorious Presec squad of 2003.

My buddy Emmanuel Seyram Duku chimed in for his sister: Major Laurinda Adusu-donkor was also a contestant in the very first Math and Science Quiz..1993…Represented St Roses.She is currently a Senior Officer in the Ghana Army and is currently in Lebanon serving God and Country. Major papapaa! She posted later on my Facebook saying that her colleagues were Baaba Biden and Eunice Owusu Ansah. colleagues 

colleagues. St. Roses was beaten by Achimota which had Dr Philip Nyinaku of 37 military hospital
Laurinda is now an army officer and a biomedical scientist at the 37 military hospital.  E
Emmanuel came in to share that Dr Yaw Adu Boakye is now a Consultant at that Dept of Medicine, KATH.

One Edward Boakye Danquah chanced upon my post and gave us many names to discuss. My best 15 contestants so far since National Science and Maths Quiz started in the year 94 are Jonny Sobotie Prempeh college 1994,Osei Agyemang Junior also of Prempeh College 1994,Yaw Adu Boakye Prempeh College 1996,Kofi Oteng Boateng also of Prempeh College 1996,Joseph Amamoo of Opoku Ware School 1997,Kwadwo Nkansah Osei Agyeman also of Opoku Ware School 1997,Kwadwo Asare Oduro of Achimota School 1998,Bubuney Addy of Mfanstipim School g 1999,Raymond Avornyo of St Peters School 2000,Paul Azunre of Opoku Ware School 2002,Reza Abdullai and Michael Gbikpi Bennisan of Presec 2003,Timothy kutin of Presec Legon 2006,Vincent Michael Ampadu of Opoku Ware School 2002 and Solomon Nii Kotey aka Nii Kem Cue Irepjesus of St Peter’s 2005 and all those listed here are passed winners of this competition.  Now, there’s a historian for you!

Nana Akua A. Ankomah-Asare also arrived and mentioned Denyo Hosi (Aburi Girls’ 93) and Philip Osafo-Kwafo (Achimota ’93), who were taken out by Johnny Sobotie’s team in the Champion of Champions) were awesome too. Philip ended up going to MIT, some years before I got there in 2002. I remember Kwadwo Asare Oduro who was part of the victorious Achimota squad in 1998 and who further went on to Harvard. There’s also Paa Kwesi Imbeah who competed for Presec in 1998 alongside Desmond Yeboah. I also remember Abbey Tei who led Presec to win in 1995. One of the more recent contestants was Lucio Dery who shined for St. Francis Xavier SHS and is now at Stanford. Raymond Avornyo, who competed for St. Peters.

To recap from the article Kwadade shared, the very first name is a popular one. Ayorkor Korsah competed for Wesley Girls in 1995, the year in which Presec won for the first time. My buddy Edem Dzakpasu who was also at my JSS (KNUST JSS) competed for Presec in 1996. There’s also Vincent Kwame Ampadu and Paul Azunre of the victorious OWASS squad of 2002. Timothy Kotin and Daniel Yeboah-Kordieh were part of winning teams for Presec in 2006 and 2008 respectively.

Are there some great NSMQ contestants we’ve missed? Share their names, schools and what they do now in the comments with us. Let’s celebrate these people. Let’s also contribute these to social media via the #NSMQGhana hashtag. Check out High Schools Society on Facebook.